NEWS > Dressage
Posted by Toni Venhaus on 28/08/2015.
Daniella Dierks - Bloomers Simply the Best in the 5-year-old Final at the 2015 Sydney CDI
Franz Venhaus

Annual awards hotly contested at 2015 NSW Dressage Championships

By Krystyna Pollard

The 2015 NSW Dressage Championships will be the last chance for riders to earn scores that count towards the prestigious Dressage NSW Annual Awards.

The awards, which range from Novice to FEI Big Tour and include ponies, professionals and Amateur Owner Riders, are presented each year to the horse and rider combination who have achieved the highest average scores over five dressage tests within the qualifying period,  one state championship to the next.

This year’s state championships – dubbed the “friendly championships” – take place from September 3 to 6 at the Sydney International Equestrian Centre (SIEC) and will see more than 200 riders complete 410 tests on 266 horses across all levels, including Amateur Owner Riders in their own right for the first time.

Competition will be fierce for this year’s Dressage NSW Annual Awards at the championships, with very little separating many competitors across the levels.

Hills district rider Daniella Dierks is currently sitting at first place on the leader board in the Novice award on Bloomers Simply the Best, and first place with Furstin Hit in the Elementary .

Sharon Potter from Wagga and Bradgate Park Delilah currently head the Medium leader board ahead of World Equestrian Games representative Matthew Dowsley, while Lizzie Wilson-Fellows and Let’s Jazzabit top the Advanced standings.

Hawkesbury Olympian Rachael Downs and John Potter’s Silbermond leads the FEI Small Tour award, while Gina Montgomery is currently on first and second place in the FEI Medium Tour.

 Ever-popular Hunter Valley rider and trainer, Heath Ryan, rounds off the list on his 19-year-old stallion Regardez Moi, heading the FEI Big Tour leader board ahead of Judy Dierks on Diamond Star. Regardez Moi is not competing at the Championships which leaves the door open for Judy Dierks to overtake the lead.

One overall pony is chosen for an annual award by NSW selectors, and Brianna Cartwright currently leads the highly competitive field with Eva Wright’s Elementary-level pony Baringa First Class, less than 0.70 per cent ahead of Amanda Shoobridge on Revelwood Warmblood Stud’s Medium-level Noble Dancer.

The current leaders in the Amateur Owner Rider section are Anita Doswell (Novice), Michel Oakley (Elementary), Wendy Calabro (Medium), Sheryl Morsley (Advanced), Helen Macaskill (FEI Small Tour), and Rebecca Walshe (FEI Big Tour).

The awards will be presented at a gala event following the 2015 NSW Dressage Championships on 21 November 2015 at Hawkesbury Racecourse.

The 2015 NSW dressage Championships are being billed as one of the biggest ever, with quality shopping and riding on offer for spectators.

Entry to the event is free, and there will be a host of specialty equestrian retailers to choose from in the shopping village.

The championships aim to encourage excellence across the spectrum of the sport, from club riders to professionals, ponies to Para-Equestrians.

For more information on the championships, go to the NSW Championships webpage

The 2015 NSW Dressage Championships – seasoned professionals, talented amateurs, ponies and Para-Equestrians. More than ever before!

Other Top News