Dressage Person of the Year Award

Dressage NSW introduced the Gow-Gates Award in 1991. It was initiated after discussions with Mr Anthony Gow-Gates whose company, Gow-Gates, offered to sponsor a special "services to the sport" award each year.

This award was created to recognise and reward a person each year, who in the members' opinion, had made a significant contribution to the advancement of the sport of dressage over the past 12 months.

Currently, the membership of Dressage NSW is invited to send in nominations for this award by a closing date that is set each year. The general membership then has the opportunity to cast their vote for one of the candidates nominated for the award for that year.

The person nominated can be a Rider, Trainer, Judge, Volunteer, Organiser, Committee Member or anyone involved with other aspects of the sport. The person nominated can be from anywhere in NSW. The Awards are open to all members. Both the person being nominated and the nominator must be a current member of Dressage NSW.

The winner of this Award is announced and presented with a trophy at the Annual Equestrian Federation (NSW) Awards Night held annually each year.

Gow-Gates now sponsor "Service to the Sport Awards" for other Equestrian Disciplines.

Past winners of this award:

2019	Bruce McVey
2018	Helen Lawson
2017	Judith Wilson
2016	Bruce McVey
2015	Prue Spurrett
2014	Denise Rogan
2013	Julie Jones
2012	Julienne Scott
2011	Gail Benson
2010	Jane Josephs
2009	Roger Fitzhardinge
2008	Karen Glendenning
2007	Michel Oakley
2006	Helen Zimic
2005	Jan Geary
2004	Trevor Klein
2003	Nerida Downs
2002	Kathy Shelley
2001	Jean Trower
2000	Gill Rickard
1999	Judy Cubitt
1998	Marcus Le Poer Trench
1997	Cathie Drury-Klein
1996	Toni Venhaus
1995	Kerry Brydon
1994	Franz Venhaus
1993	Carolyn Lieutenant
1992	Yvonne Wilson
1991	Joy Charlton